Colour.

 

Autumn

Rios in Glitter
Rios in Glitter

I love colour.

I never thought I would utter those words, but there you go. Another positive effect of turning 40, I guess.

I spent my entire teenage years in black. Head to toe and including my mood. Misspent youth, if you ask me now. I listened to the Cure and other neurotic bands and had a crush on an equally dark boy.

Moving to Melbourne in my 20’s didn’t help. More black outfits (to blend in, of course). I did experiment with a few colours, but nothing really stuck. After so many years in black, I suspect I was not comfortable with any colour beyond grayscale….

Years later, 3 kids and a move to the country, I have started playing with colour. First,  gravitating to those gorgeous autumn colours like warm oranges and mustard and deep burgundy. Autumn colours, like autumn itself, always lifts my spirits. There is nothing quite like a walk through a forest, with nature bursting with the last of its glorious colour display.

candlewick1
Madelinetosh DK Gilded
Cascade 220 Turtle
Cascade 220 Turtle
Eco Wool in Gun Metal
Eco Wool in Gun Metal
Lana d'Oro in Shamrock
Lana d’Oro in Shamrock
Madelinetosh DK in French Grey
Madelinetosh DK in French Grey
Noro Nadeshiko
Noro Nadeshiko

So, I started playing around with colourful accessories. The Honey Cowl was my first bright accessory in a stunning Orange. More cowls and scarfs followed in a range of warm tones. Accessories are just a great way to experiment and  add a splash of colour to a dark wardrobe. In fact, it can make an outfit go from ‘blah to wow’ I reckon.

Do you have accessories that can bring some pop to your style. Is there a colour that you are drawn to when you feel blue? Is there one colour that is just so you?

Only in recent months I have braved to venture out even more into the world of colour. Some funky cotton pants in Royal Purple, of all colours… I would never in my life bought a pair of purple pants, but I tried them on and fell in love with the combination of maroon and purple .
Now I am looking at blends like the gorgeous Dream in Colour colours like Sangria, Passion and Cranberry Melt and I imagine all sorts of things I would knit with them…..

Some Pattern Ideas

Rios in Cumparasita
Rios in Cumparasita

Rios is just a wonderful blend of 100% superwash merino. Soft like butter and beautifully dyed, I have used this several times now for my kids jumpers and hats. A few examples are:

 Caelum

Abate

 Flintshire

Tuke

Dream in Colour - Calm in Sangria
Dream in Colour – Calm in Sangria
Calm in Passion
Calm in Passion

Calm is a wickedly cushy skein of single ply worsted weight yarn. Beautiful colours and great stitch definition make this a great yarn for hats, fingerless mitts  and also for a super-cosy cowl.

Cove Cowl

Wanderlust Mittens

Antler Hat

And then a shipment of the most luxurious kind arrived. And out of the box popped this most stunning colour called Rhodolite. Road to China is the most exquisite yarn, a blend of Merino, Alpaca, Silk and Cashmere. Light as a feather, drapey and elegant and silky soft and warm.

So now, without thought and warning, I am loving all these hot, extravagant and loud colours too!!!

Road to China in Rholodite
Road to China in Rhodolite

This particular colour is destined for something delicious around my neck….but just imagine a floaty, drapey cardigan in this?

Alice

Susie Rogers Reading Mitts

Veronika

Over the past few weeks I have been receiving shipment after shipment of new stock. One yarn in particular that I  love and will be expanding on is the Lana d’Oro. An incredibly durable yarn in a blend of 50/50 Merino/Alpaca, this is without a doubt the best yarn for its price on the market. I am knitting Abate in the colour ‘Hare’ for a friend’s son and it is knitting up beautifully. But most importantly, especially when knitting for kids, it will look great for the next few winters (if those tackers would just stop growing for a bit…).

Still from Cascade, I now stock Superwash Sport and Superwash 220. Both yarns are very popular for kids knits and they are such great value too. And just so many colours to choose from…

Superwash Sport in Como Blue
Superwash Sport in Como Blue

Madelinetosh Merino Light is still proving to be hugely popular and if you are still looking for pattern ideas, here are some that I have fallen in love with

Window to my soul

Ochre

Elfe

And speaking of colours, I must admit that I have been a tad distracted lately. Knitting projects are sitting lonely in my basket as I spend all of my free time in the kitchen. Not cooking weird and wonderful culinary creations (well, I still do that too), but dyeing skein after wonderful skeins. I suddenly had the urge to experiment with colour myself and what started as a holiday project with the kids using onion skins, red cabbage, Kool-Aid and Food colouring has now progressed to the growing range of Landscape Dyes. Someone should have warned me of the addictive nature of such a hobby….

Storm
Storm
Hot Baby
Hot Baby
Dark Sea
Dark Sea
Acid
Acid
Pumpkin Glow
Pumpkin Glow
Strawberry and Chocolate
Strawberry and Chocolate
J.M.B
J.M.B
Lovely
Lovely
Chilli
Chilli

Oh, it was such fun playing with colours!

I had all the good intentions to take meticulous notes on my process so that I could replicate any happy outcome….well, I love them all but I lost track halfway adding mixing and dipping, so that I only have a vague idea of how I arrived at such a happy result. Next time I will do less playing and more documenting I think, so that I can offer these lovely skeins in the shop too….

Some are Pure chunky Alpaca, some are super soft and lofty Merino, and the two last ones are lovely Sock yarns.

Now, I will have to hurry and finish once again all my UFO’s so that I can transform these babies into a lovely cowl or beanie. In the meantime, I am waiting patiently for more base yarns from Lanie at  Forest Hill Yarns to perfect this lovely colour adventure…..

Hope you are all relishing this beautiful autumn colour display nature is putting up for us!

Stay warm and cosy,

signature

One thought on “Colour.

  1. My god, I had a crush on The Cure’s Robert Smith – he’s a bit bloated looking these days, but once upon a time he was appealing! I’m just starting to move into colour myself, though I was definitely not a goth type, I just had no distinctive style of my own – daggy and unkempt is how I’d describe my style in my 20’s! Love the colours you created – your dark sea is the colour that speaks to me the most – I love that brooding ocean blue/green colour. But I do love that Rios in glitter. Gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

