My creative space – Road to China.

Road to China light

They do say that you get what you pay for.

This goes probably for things like household items, toys and clothes. In my case, I believe it applies also to yarn. Not always, but in this case you do.

As the name would suggest, there is Silk in this gorgeous jewel like skein. But what did they use to explore the famous Silk Route? Camels. Right, so here you have some Alpaca, Camel, Cashmere and Merino and a bit of Silk for good measure. I haven’t come across many softer and loftier yarns. You hold it in your hands and it feels like a cotton bud and you instinctively want to cup it in you hand and hold it against your cheek.

Oh yes, I am being terribly poetic and graphic here, but please, indulge me as I truly love this yarn. I want to knit something to wrap myself up in it. Drape it around my neck and let it fall over my shoulders. It is fine, so even on a cool summer’s night, this would be a welcome hug….

Something like this Elegant wrap. Or this textured shawl..or a floaty scarf? Or something wispy? You get the idea, yes?

But imagine a floaty knit, like this ravelry favourite? Vitamin D by Heidi Kirrmaier.

A beanie, light as a feather, maybe?

But to get back to quality. This is one of those yarns that will look good even after lots of wearing. It will keep soft and cosy. Remember how I knitted my first Fair Isle hat, the Opus Spicatum? I used Road to China in Worsted and it turned out small, but beautiful. Buttery soft and thick.

Well, if you knew my girl you’d know that she is not a delicate flower. She is a girl who fancies herself a bit of a farmer girl and rightly so. She is hands on and not squirmish. Likes a tumble in the grass and handling all kinds of domesticated farm animals. Especially little lambs. I am saying this because I have just recovered my senses and confiscated the said Opus out of fear she might misplace it….(oh yes, she did loose this year’s love hat…temporarily I hope). The hat has endured a bit of rough treatments and it looks still perfect.

Thats what I mean with quality. I have come to realise that if I invest in something so precious, I want to be able to enjoy it for a long time. I want it to look good. For more than 2 wears. And, I confess, I do like to indulge once in a while….ahem.

Malachite

So, for a snapshot of my creative space today, I am counting, sorting, photographing and patting arranging this new baby. And there is so much more….but that is for another day.

As a side note, I will be at the Australian Wool and Sheep Show from the 20th July – 22nd July this year.

Come and say Hi at the Noble Hall (site 21) and pat check out the new stock. 

For more creative spaces, hop over here.

See ya

One thought on “My creative space – Road to China.

Leave a Reply

