Chicken Soup for the Soul

Today is the kind of day where you just want to stay in bed all day. Grey, miserable and cold outside.

Phlegmy, cloudy and foggy inside. In my head that is. It has just hit me and I am inclined to go all sooky. But I won’t. Well, can’t really as this is the reality of life, isn’t it. But I will give myself a bit of self-nurturing today. A day on the couch with my little man. A few good books, a pile of Lego’s and he is a happy camper. For me some knitting, a soft pillow and lots of Chai.

But not before I put on the mother of all Chicken Soups! It may be a cliché, but I always make Chicken Soup when one of us just has the slightest sniffle. It works and it make me feel good. And because I was feeling nurturing and it has been on my to-do-list for ages, I made a double batch of Super Granola. Because I can’t stand Weetbix and the kids have been complaining about the Porridge (don’t blame them)…

Maple and Orange Zest Granola

So today, to shake things up a bit and because we can’t live on knitting alone, I will share some of today’s recipes with you. How’s that?

Super Chicken Soup not just for the Soul

1 large organic chicken

2 leeks

2 celery sticks

2 onions

lots of garlic

2 carrots

a mixture of herbs (thyme, rosemary, parsley)

ginger

white wine

shiitake mushrooms

Sea Salt, Herbamare, Tamari or some stock powder to taste

I chop up my chicken in pieces. I reserve the breasts and drumsticks to either add later or use for something else. The rest I break up and with the back of a big knife, I also crack the big bones to release the goodness of the marrow inside. This makes for a richer and more nutritious broth. Trust me…

In a big stockpot and a splash of Olive Oil, saute the chicken pieces to render the fat. When the meat starts to colour, add your chopped veggies and herbs. Saute for a little while, then add 1/2 of while wine (that’s right). Let the wine evaporate and then add water to full the entire pot.

Cover and let it simmer. All day if you like. We had some for lunch and then some more for dinner with some pasta stars in it.

To make it extra nutritious, you can do what my nonna used to do. Its called ‘Straciatella‘ .

In a small bowl, whisk one egg and 2 handfuls of grated parmesan and pinch of sea salt. Add it to the soup with a whisk and serve. Delicious!

This is what we had for lunch.

While the soup cooked, I also made a batch of our Granola. And this is how it goes:

Maple Syrup and Orange Granola

4 cups of rolled oats

1 1/2 cup of mixed nuts and seeds

(Sunflower, Pumpkin, Sesame, Pecans, Cashews, Walnuts)

Shredded Coconut

Slivered Almonds

Zest of one orange

pinch of sea salt

Your can also add some dried fruit after the baking

85 g of unsalted butter or Coconut oil

1/2 Cup of Maple Syrup

Melt Butter and Syrup and stir through your Oat mixture. Spread on a baking tray lined with baking paper. Bake in a warm oven (150C) until golden. Time depends on your oven. Mine is dodgy, so I have to keep a careful eye on it. Generally, you can tell by the delicious aroma coming from it…

When the others are coming home from school, we’ll have it for afternoon tea…..

But it wouldn’t be me if there wasn’t just a little bit of knitting, now wouldn’t it? So here is what I started on the weekend.

Molly Beret

I had some Canopy Fingering left over from the Setesdal Love Hat. And it is perfect for this soft hat with the delicate lace brim. Can’t wait to see this one knitted up…..Raveled here.

So it is back on the couch for me.

Hope you are having a fabulous start of the week.

3 thoughts on “Chicken Soup for the Soul

  1. Hey Alex, TA for saying hello today. Loving all YOUR knitty stuff too. Very stylish in a classic sort of way. Think I might be in need of you chicken soup too. Came home from Melbourne with bloody head cold. The best. Moi

  2. How timely. Just what I need. It has struck in our household too. Hope you get better quick. I’ve never made granola but will definately give this a go. x

Leave a Reply

