Autumn Essentials. Toppers.

Have you noticed how it is getting noticeably frisky in the mornings?

I distinctly feel like a woolly layer when I get out of bed, and insist on socks and a cardi for the kids when we go down for breakfast.

I just love the crisp, fresh air when we drive to school, the mist that covers the valley….Autumn is romantic and melancholy…It is a time to scurry and gather provisions for the cold and darker months of the year (provisions of the knitting kind).

This is the time when I am in my element. Lucky for me, I don’t suffer the cold. I am a warm-blooded girl, with a constant warm body temperature. All that I require to survive this (mild) winter of ours is a selection of cowls, a pair of woollen socks and cardigan. For the kids, a collection of hand-me-downs and op shop finds, supplemented with mama-knits. Beanies, vests and a cowl each.

By saying that, the days are still lovely and mild, and all the morning layers are being peeled off by lunchtime. So, this brings me to the autumn essentials. A selection of practical and useful items that cover our body parts without being bulky and discarded within a couple of hours.

Beanies are one of those things…Not the ear covering, bulky and hair flattening toppers, but the more delicate accessories. Slouchy, lacy and above all colourful. I love seeing covered heads and a hat is such a great way to make a bold entrance. So, I say, don’t just wear any odd head covering. Not some unsightly, synthetic, random and generic topper. NO! Make a statement, be bold!

I have just finished the super simple yet totally cool Rikke hat for a dear friend in Madelinetosh Vintage Kelp. Knit up quickly in either DK or 10-ply, it is done in a couple of nights and fits a lot of different sized heads.

I have also finished the delightful Castiel. I am sampling some delicious Skein yarn. The Himalaya is a DK weight yarn with 80% Merino and 20% Cashmere. Super soft and warm, this yarn is just perfect for accessories like this lacy hat. ZigoZago will be stocking this gorgeous yarn along with its Worsted MCN cousin in a couple of weeks. Skein Yarns is the business behind the talented fibre artisan Kristen. I am very pleased to be able to support another small australian business like Skein.

Another airy beanie that would be a perfect go with Himalaya, is the QL Slouch. A  subtly variegated yarn would be a perfect match for this pattern.

And since I am a bit on a beanie bender, I just have to keep knitting. Next on the needles were a couple of Tuva hats. A very popular pattern, but I made some major modifications, so I am wondering it I can still call them Tuvas? My Ravelry notes explain my mods…

Tuva in Malabrigo Worsted Ochre
Tuva in Malabrigo Worsted Purple Mystery

Another great pattern is the Simple Slouchy Hat. I knit this with Malabrigo Rios in Aguas. A most perfect pattern/wool combination!

I knitted this one while camping in Bright and didn’t even get to take it home. It got snapped up right there and then, perfect for the cool evenings by the fire.

The last beanie I have knitted is the adorable Pip’s Acorn Cap with the leftover Purple Mystery. A super cute pattern, but again, I had to do some mods to fit my needs. Obviously, the size knitted is not for my 5 year old….it fits my little nephew who is about to turn one though…..See my Ravelry notes for the mods.

Pip's Acorn Hat in Malabrigo Worsted in Purple Mystery

So, now I am on my last Acorn Cap, before I will have to try a new pattern….maybe the lovely Lavender Hat?

Have you been knitting beanies? Do tell and share your favourite patterns…

Keep warm and toasty and enjoy the rest of your Easter break!

3 thoughts on “Autumn Essentials. Toppers.

    1. Thanks Frockfarie! Hats are great…..to wear AND to make….
      And it looks like you had a great trip to Sydney….love being a tourist in Sydney!
      Alex

Leave a Reply

