The Quilt.

This Quilt has a bit of a story to tell…..

Like most quilts, this one was born out of the desire to create something that would last and not be outgrown in a season or two. A Heirloom project that would keep my daughter cosy and warm, like a hug. More than a mere blanket, a keeper of memories. I wanted to use scrap fabric that I had used over the years for her dresses. Many of which she has out-worn or out-grown or had been passed on to cousins. This is a quilt you can look at and point to different fabrics and say ‘oh, remember this dress? And this was my school blouse’.

And as I look at it now, I can imagine her saying ‘this was my mothers first quilt, you can tell…..’. Oh yes, you can tell indeed.

I have probably broken every quilt rule in the book. Quilters may shake their head in disbelief. You see, I started this quilt over 2 year ago (not that I know more about quilting now either…). One night, I just started squaring off my scrap fabric and sewing pieces of it together to get a square. No pattern, no measurements, no idea where this was taking me….Over the following weeks, I added more squares, until I realised that it would probably be a good idea to make them all the same size. So I picked the smallest one and started resizing them. I did go to the quilt shop (one that has the most intimidating, amazing and traditional quilts displayed). The lady gave me some tips, lots of measurements for the sashing, batting and the back fabric.

Once I hit square 17, I lost momentum and I got scared by the sashing bit and the idea of putting it all together and forcing it through my dodgy machine. I put it aside and that’s where it stayed for the past 2 years. Sporadically my daughter inquired about the quilt and I kept putting it off. This sad fact is was not helped my the amazing and creative quilts in blogland. I mean, I could never do that, right?

The Blocks

Sooooo. Yesterday I finally got all my squares out and laid them out. I really did not feel like sifting through more scrap fabric to make more squares. And then, looking at it, I realised that I could actually get away with the squares I already had. A bit of sashing and a border, and it would be a nice size of non-standart measurement. I dashed into town to get sashing fabric and lots of encouragement from a non-traditional quilter. And would you believe it? Within 2 hours I had the pieces cut and sewn on. A bit chop chop and a bit of doctoring and I now have myself a quilt top, thank you very much!

The sashing

Ironing helps.

The top
The backing

But now that I have the top, I have to overcome my next hurdle. How to put it all together?

Shall I attempt the traditional way of pinning and hand quilting? Considering the general wonkyness of the top, I fear that would involve some cutting and swearing.

Or shall I just start quilting it together, from top down and square it off at the end? (Inevitably, this WILL be wonky and shifty)

Or how about sandwiching it all together and sew around the sides and then turning it inside out? That would same me from doing a binding?

You see the dilemma? I need to get a move on this quilt, and not only because I could not bear to shove it to a corner for another 2 years, but because its Christmas in 8 weeks (I KNOW, 8 weeks!!!).

So, if there are any quilters out there, now is the time to give some advise….

It will be greatly appreciated!

And apart from that, I am wrapped with this quilt, with my learning curve and I am all exited to now make one for the boys. The question is though, will I be following a pattern and some rules or shall I go rogue again?

Have a wonderful start to your week. Hopefully you get some knitting or sewing time.

Alex.

3 thoughts on “The Quilt.

  1. This looks just like the quilt I am about to start!! I tend to make mine up as I go along…..might have to talk quilting with you soon – looks great by the way : )

  2. Hi Alex, I’m always happy to talk quilts! Your quilt looks beautiful! I now use BIG stitches with crochet thread in my quilts and recommend combining some use of tying and stitching … it looks great! and cuts down the quilting time … I started off endeavouring (not succeeding!) to do the 12 stitches per inch trad quilting by hand and it has progressed from there to much more freeform! I do love a good binding though – and this part is quite straightforward – you can machine it on, and hand sew the rest and it sits beautifully … good luck and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

