Comfort.

Today is a down-face dog kind of a day…..in the most yogig of sense….

A day you want to put your face down low on a pillow and rest. And make sleeping dog noises…..

Matching my mood is the weather and the rhythm of the day. A lovely chiro treatment for my achy back. Some baking and lots of cups of nurturing tea. Today is my first day off coffee and the effect has taken me by surprise. I am sleepy and my thoughts constantly wander to the aroma of a creamy cafe latte. Tragic really…but I am quietly determined to break the addiction and will continue to drink my herbal tea (which my kids think looks like wee….thanks you guys…)

Hanging out with my lovely boy, knitting a few rows and a little bit of pretend-tidying of the studio…

Afternoon tea of hot chocolate and Buttermilk Cake for the children…

And since dinner is already done we are now retiring to the couch and read some more of “The Neverending Story” .

Since I haven’t got any knitting to share with you, I thought I give you the recipe for this lovely and wholesome cake that is becoming my new go-to recipe for an afternoon snack for the kids:

Buttermilk Cake 

2 1/2 cups of wholemeal flour (I use wholemeal spelt or my special blend of gluten free flour)

1 tbs aluminium-free baking powder

1/2 cup fine grain natural cane sugar (I use brown sugar, rapadura or coconut sugar)

1/2 tsp fine sea salt

2 large eggs

1 1/2 cups buttermilk

60g unsalted butter, melted

Grated zest of 3 lemons or oranges

Fruit of choice (depending on the season it could be fresh plums, stewed apples, nectarines. I often use frozen berries)

3 tbs large-grain raw sugar to sprinkle on top.

Pre-heat the oven to 205C with a rack in the top third of the oven. Butter and flour a 11-inch round cake tin or a square baking dish.

Whisk together the flour, baking powder, fine-grain sugar, and salt in a large bowl. Ina separate smaller bowl, whisk together the eggs and buttermilk. Whisk in the melted (but not hot) butter and the lemon zest. Add the buttermilk mixture to the flour mixture and stir briefly, until just combined.

Spoon the batter into the prepared pan, pushing it toward the edges a bit. Scatter the plums across the top, then sprinkle with the large-grain sugar.

Bake for 20-25 minutes, or until the cake has set.

Serve with yoghurt or cream.

Have a lovely week.

Alex.

3 thoughts on “Comfort.

  1. Wünsch dir viel Glück beim Kaffeeentzug :-). Mmmhhh…. ich mach mir glaub ich glaub jetzt gleich mal so einen feinen Espresso….. (so gemein, ich weiss).
    ganz liebe Grüsse

  2. I really love this recipe Alex, simple and very healthy and the best thing is I have buttermilk leftover from another recipe. I’ll be giving this a try, thank you. Thank you for stopping by my blog too.:)

Leave a Reply

