Autumn weather and knit-alongs

We are loving this beautiful weather here at the moment!

On days like this I feel elated, happy, motivated and purposeful. Perfect for walks in the bush, or learning to ride a bike, I say.

Timons second day on the bike

I am also planning a little knit-along….several friends have asked me to teach them how to knit a jumper in the round, after I wrestled at a recent class meeting with my dp needles….

So, for everyone living in the Castlemaine area, here is the deal:

ZigoZago

Knit-along

Would you like to learn to knit a seamless kids jumper or cardigan in the round?

Do you enjoy knitting, chatting and drinking coffee (all at the same time)?

In time for the colder months, join us for 3 Wednesday mornings for a fun

knit-along at the “Doveton” and make a jumper for your little one.

Over 3 morning sessions you will learn how to cast on and knit in the round for a classic jumper or cardigan. Kitting in the round is great, as there is no seaming or sewing in required at the end. You will be able to choose your own colors or choose from ‘in stock’ colours.

$80 includes

Your choice of color from our beautiful Cascade 220 (100% Peruvian wool) range, high quality German circular knitting needles, a set of 5 Tasmanian Oak double pointed needles, a printed pattern and 3 tutorial sessions!

Sessions will start in April

If you are interest in joining our little crafty group and  meet other knitters over coffee, send me a message or email me on info@zigozago.com.au

And to practice for the jumper knit-along, I have cast on another jumper for Gian in Jo Sharp Aran Tweed that I bought on sale a while back.

 

A jumper for Gian

A note on the Yarn? Well, I must admit I am not in love with the Aran….it feels dry and the knitted fabric hasn’t got much give….if you know what I mean. The colour though is lovely and it will look great on my big boy. The Green is called Ambrosia and is the DK Tweed. Strangely enough, it feels very different, even though both yarns have cashmere and silk in it. It is softer and more ‘elastic’. It is hard to describe….

The pattern is my go-to Ravelry classic raglan sweater knit in the round. It is easy and a very quick knit and the end result it fantastic. A slim fit all-round jumper for busy kids I’d say.

 

 

I am sure you have all heard about the devastation in Japan! I feel incredibly overwhelmed by all the natural disasters hitting the world at the moment. So much heartbreak, suffering, loss and incredible shock.  The images that are hitting the screens are horrific and I am feeling the pain for all the children and mothers, as I am holding my little ones close.

Here is where you can help. Do that if you can. I am keeping my ear out for a place to donate something handmade as the people of Japan have lost so much.

 

Alex.

 

 

One thought on “Autumn weather and knit-alongs

Leave a Reply

