Overwhelmed

Yesterday afternoon it felt like someone had turned the ‘rain’ button off and witched on the sun…..I left Castlemaine in the morning to go to Melbourne in torrential rain, dodging potholes and fallen branches.

I returned with the sun shining and clear blue skyes….it felt surreal.

While we have damp houses and muddy gardens, a few fallen trees and a fast flowing creek, I cannot begin to imagine what it must be like for the residents of flood affected towns. I am thinking of families trying to clean up their houses with little toddlers and babies underfoot. My thoughts are with them. And with everyone who is grieving the loss of a loved one, the loss of their homes and livelihood. It will require great courage, resilience and faith to face the coming months.

Now that the rain has stopped and the water is receding the full extent of the damage can be seen. The clean up effort is enormous and it will take months. For many, there is nothing left, others have to rebuild their damaged homes.

My thoughts are with all those brave people and I praise their courage and determination to get up the get going.

Alex.

for the Master list of all those participating in the Flood Relief Auctions, please visit Toni’s Blog on from Sunday night.

All photos from here

5 thoughts on “Overwhelmed

  1. It is just devestating – I have cried so much in the last few days for friends who have lost everything they own.
    You stay safe too – no where is safe from Mother Nature at the moment:(

  2. Well written Alex, it is surreal, the whole flood situation – Queensland, Victoria and Tasmania! I have just come back from Queensland early and the feeling up there was a lot of ‘mateship’, something we should all be so proud of. It’s nice to be home though and back on dryish land – thank god for the sunshine. Kate xx

  3. I also found that one minute its torrentially raining and the next sunny and clear thing so odd. They are some amazing photos. Our place is so wet and stinky and muddy I can only imagine how terrible it is in Queensland.

    1. I hope you guys are doing ok. I read a while ago that last months rain caused quite a bit of damage to your farm…..lets hope for some dry weather (who thought we’d say that….)

Leave a comment